Comment on page
Can Locksmith hide content from my in-store search?
How to adjust your lock settings to prevent your content from being found via your in-store search
Locksmith includes a checkbox inside of the "Settings" area, on lock pages, that will remove products and other resources from searches - but only from the default and static searches in your store.
Note: Locksmith can NOT remove products from display in other apps, nor can it remove products from dynamic (shows results as you type) searches. In these cases, see suggestions below...
You'll find the hide-from-search setting on each of your lock pages, like so:
Using the above Locksmith setting to 'hide from search results' will not remove the search results when a third party or dynamic search is enabled in your store, so we have some suggestions for alternatives.
The only option here, if you want to make sure that your locked content is never displayed inside of your in-store search, is to disable the dynamic loading of the products. Each theme is different, but this is typically done within the "search" settings for the theme.
Once you open the Theme Editor, you can find it under your "Search" settings. On the Debut theme, for example, go to:
- Theme Settings > Search > Enable product suggestions (turn OFF)
Locksmith won’t be able to hide your products from a search in this case, since the third party app is completely responsible for displaying search results when enabled. Suggestions:
- Many third party apps have their own ways to prevent products from showing up in them. Check the settings for the app that you're using! At the very least, they should allow you to remove certain products entirely from appearing in searches, using a specific product tag.
For product and collection locks, Locksmith also gives you the option to hide from sitemaps:
Note: When enabled, his setting will remove products completely from in-store searches. In other words, even visitors that have access to the content via Locksmith won't see the products appear in searches. Because of that, this setting may not work for everyone, but is still available as an option.
On collection locks, as long as the 'protect products in this collection' option is enabled, the setting will also be applied to each product in the collection.