Why are my customers seeing a reCAPTCHA when logging in?
While Locksmith does often use the information of already-signed-in customers to decided whether or not to grant access (depending on your settings), Locksmith does this by using the account system provided by Shopify for your store, and does not create its own, or directly edit the sign in process in any way.
For security, Shopify may ask your customers to complete a Google reCAPTCHA task, verifying that a human user is present. This is an effective way to prevent bot submissions of orders and contact forms. Locksmith doesn't have any control over these; they're entirely managed by Shopify.
For information on editing the Shopify setting regarding the re-captcha in your store, see Shopify's guide here, or continue reading for information on how to turn it off...

Turning re-captcha off

Shopify allows these reCAPTCHA tasks to be enabled or disabled in two categories: at checkout, and on contact forms. That second category is a little misleading: it also applies to normal customer login attempts.
To manage these settings, find the "Online Store" navigation category, in your Shopify admin's list of sales channels. From that navigation list, head to the "Preferences" area, and scroll to the very end of the page of settings. You'll find a section titled "Spam protection". Use this section to control your online storefront's settings for Google reCAPTCHA.
If you have more questions about how these work, contact Shopify support.
Copy link